July 16, 2018: It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

bookdate

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme currently hosted by The Book Date. It’s a place to meet up and share what you have been, are and about to be reading over the week, and add to that ever-growing TBR stack.

Hello friends!

It’s been a couple of weeks since we last chatted, and I am FINALLY reading again! Cue the confetti, pop the champagne, it would seem I am back on the bandwagon. Basically, me @ all my books right now: 

full

What helped, you ask? I really don’t know. I’ve been in the mood for primarily nonfiction in the last two weeks, so I’m leaning into that. I’m also not forcing myself to read anything that’s not getting me excited, so galleys will have to wait for a bit. I finished reading Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook (super informative), Sick (absolutely devastating), A Wizard of Earthsea (entertaining), Alex and Eliza (quick and sweet), Bruja Born ( thrilling and as good as the first; I love Lula), and So Close to Being the Sh*t, Y’all Don’t Even Know (has its funny moments, not memorable).

I can’t tell you what a relief it is to be reading again- people often snort at my stress about not reading or not wanting to read (“Oh you’ve still read more than most people”, “watch something instead”, “you read enough” are just some of the reactions I get), largely because they underestimate not just how much it ties into my identity but the role it plays in my mental health as well. Books anchor me, sustain me. In the middle of depression, anxiety, dysphoria, it’s the thing that holds me together.

Anyway, now that I’m back to it, here’s what I’m reading this week:

Like I said, all nonfiction. I’m not questioning it. Fiction will be waiting for me when I’m ready. 

Talk to me about your reading lives, friends. What’s new in your world?

-J

 

Author: Janani @ The Shrinkette

Speed reading aficionado. Unapologetic book pusher. Point me to the nearest bookshelf. My blog is dedicated exclusively to supporting and promoting marginalized voices. Pronouns: They/them

5 thoughts on “July 16, 2018: It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?”

  1. I get feeling unhappy about not wanting to read. I’ve been much more interested in gaming lately and it has come at the expense of some of my reading and blogging time. I feel a bit guilty, because when I work on my blog, I’m creating something and when I’m playing games, that’s not true. It is also a big part of my identity. I’m glad you’re feeling more into reading lately and especially excited you’re on a nonfiction streak 🙂 Sounds like fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Slumping is rough! I’m finally beginning to luxuriate in *really* being able to read books again post-graduation, and it’s just divine.

    Enjoy gobbling that non-fiction! 💖

    Like

  3. How great that you’re back reading! Those slumps are god awful. And how much do I love that you’re reading Bourdain? Aaagggghhhh, so much 😢

    I too am finally back to reading more. Just finished Children of Blood and Bone last night and onto some Helen Oyeyemi next. Good to see things going well for you!

    Like

  4. I understand. I’m in my summer reading slump and am finally accepting that it happens every summer, but I still hate it.

    I’m glad you’ve found some reading mojo! Can’t wait to hear what you think about the books. I’m bummed Retta’s book wasn’t memorable for you (I haven’t read it yet but want to).

    Like

  5. Books sustain me too, I know exactly exactly what you mean. When I’m feeling crummy and off, it frequently turns out to be because I haven’t been carving out time for myself to read — like if I drive to work a few days in a row rather than taking public transportation and reading on the bus trip? I get so crabby. So yay, I am so glad that you’re reading again!! Are you doing 24in48 next weekend? 😀

    Like

Thoughts?